DPhil Archaeological Science

Jamie Anderson
DPhil Archaeological Science
Hertford College
“Human and Environmental Change at North Atlantic Coastal Settlements, ca AD900-1800: A chronological perspective”

Lorena Becerra Valdivia
DPhil Archaeological Science
Merton College
lorena.becerravaldivia@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Establishing a reliable chronology to the initial peopling of the Americas through high precision AMS radiocarbon dating and Bayesian modelling”

James Blinkhorn
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
james.blinkhorn@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“The Palaeolithic Occupation of the Thar Desert”

Daniela Boos Pedroza
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
daniela.boospedroza@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“Oxygen-18 as Tracers of Copper Corrosion in the Atmosphere and Soil Environment: A Geographic Study on Brochanite and Malachite Formations on Historic and Archaeological Material”

Fiona Bradshaw
DPhil Archaeological Science
Wolfson College
fiona.bradshaw@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Exploitation, Technology and Function of Plant Resin in Oceania: Molecular Analysis of Ethnographic Museum Artefacts and their Archaeological Implications”

Chelsea Budd
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
chelsea.budd@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
“Neolithic Anatolia and Central Europe: Disentangling Environmental Impacts from Diet Istotope Studies”

Luciana da costa Carvalho
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
luciana.carvalho@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Recovery and analysis of organic residues from archaeological metal objects”

Laine Clark-Balzan
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
laine.clark-balzan@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
“Dating the Aterian using techniques of luminescence dating and implications for mapping the dispersal of modern Homo Sapiens”

Steve Crabb
DPhil Archaeological Science
Hertford College
steven.crabb@hertford.ox.ac.uk
“How did the iron industry in Southern Britain change from the Iron Age to the Roman period?”

Katerina Douka
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
katerina.douka@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
“Investigating the Chronology of the Middle to Upper Palaeolithic Transition in Mediterranean Europe by Improved Radiocarbon Dating of Shell Ornaments”

Nora Farber
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Peter's College
eleanor.farber@spc.ox.ac.uk
“Life at a Crossroads: Exploring Medieval Health, Diet and Migration at Stoke Quay, Ipswich”

Ilaria maria Grimaldi
DPhil Archaeological Science
Wolfson College
ilaria.grimaldi@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Food for Thought: Genetic, Historical and Ethnobotanical Studies of Taro (Colocasia Esculenta (L.) Schott) in Africa”

Vincent Hare
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
vincent.hare@arch.ox.ac.uk
“Rehydroxylation Dating”

Gareth Hatton
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
“The Technology of Egyptian Blue”

Yushen He
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
yushen.he@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Materials and Ancient Architecture”

Amber Hood
DPhil Archaeological Science
Merton College
amber.hood@merton.ox.ac.uk
“New Insights into Old Problems: The Application of a Multidisciplinary Approach to the Study of Early Egyptian Ceramic Chronology, with a Focus on Luminescence Dating”

Rachel Hopkins
DPhil Archaeological Science
Wolfson College
rachel.hopkins@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Radiocarbon Dating The Middle to Upper Palaeolithic Biocultural Shift in the Danube Fluvial Corridor”

Philly Howarth
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
philippa.howarth@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Copper and Copper Alloys in Ancient Anatolia and the Near East”

Evan Irving-Pease
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
evan.irving-pease@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“Dating Domestication: A systematic re-analysis using molecular clocks”

Eileen Jacob
DPhil Archaeological Science
Merton College
eileen.jacob@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Radiocarbon dating Late Pleistocene megafauna responses to humans and climate change”

Amy Jeffrey
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
amy.jeffrey@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
“Exploring palaeoaridity using stable oxygen and carbon isotopes in small mammal teeth: a case study from two Late Pleistocene archaeological cave sites in Morocco, North Africa”

Johnson
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
“The Long Term Dynamic Influence of Human Activity on Topsoil Magnetic Susceptibility”

Hyunyoung Kim
DPhil Archaeological Science
Hertford College
hyunyoung.kim@hertford.ox.ac.uk
“The agricultural economies of early urban systems in the northern Fertile Crescent”

Bo Lee
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
boyoung.lee@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Unreeling Cocoons: Identification and Provenance of Silk”

Ruiliang Liu
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
ruiliang.liu@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Metal Flow in Shang China”

Emma Loftus
DPhil Archaeological Science
Merton College
emma.loftus@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Sea Surface Temperatures from Oxygen Isotopes in Marine Molluscs in Middle and Later Stone Age Sites, South Africa”

Liisa Loog
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
liisa.loog@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Discovering Domestication Processes Through Spatial Modelling and Ancient DNA”

Qian Ma
DPhil Archaeological Science
St John's College
qian.ma@sjc.ox.ac.uk
“Archaeological Materials, The source of raw materials for alkali glass along the Silk Road in the Tang Dynasty(7th -10th AD).”

Sarah Mallet
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
sarah.mallet@stx.ox.ac.uk
“'Diets in England’: change, continuity and regionality between 1500 BC and AD 1086”

Nyree Manoukian
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
nyree.manoukian@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Early Transcaucasian Ware and the Origins of the Kura-Araxes Culture”

Moujan Matin
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
moujan.matin@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Origins of Islamic Glazed Pottery Revisited: A Technological Examination of 8th-10th Century AD Ceramics from Islamic Lands”

Andrea Mobbs
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
andrea.mobbs@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Elite women in 7th century Anglo-Saxon England - a bioarchaeological approach”

Jennifer Murgatroyd
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
jennifer.wehby@arch.ox.ac.uk
“Ancient Mortar Production in Ostia, Italy: Builders and their choices”

Solomon Pomerantz
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
solomon.pomerantz@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“The Prehistory of Madagascar: Microbotanical and Archaeological Evidence from Coastal and Highland Sites”

Eduardo Queiroz Alves
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
eduardo.queirozalves@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The Marine Reservoir Effect on the Brazilian Coast: Archaeological and Oceanographic Interpretations”

Leonie Raijmakers
DPhil Archaeological Science
Merton College
leonie.raijmakers@merton.ox.ac.uk
“An Investigation of Past Human Migrations and the Introduction of Malaria in the Indo-Pacific through Plasmodium Vivax Mitochondrial Genomes”

Kathryn Reusch
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
“That Which Was Missing': The Archaeology of Castration”

Patrick Roberts
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
patrick.roberts@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“Fruits of the Forest: Human Stable Isotope Ecology and Rainforest Adaptations in Late Pleistocene and Holocene Sri Lanka”

Hannah Ryan
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
hannah.ryan@keble.ox.ac.uk
“Developing genomic approaches to palaeoparasitology”

Benjamin Sabatini
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
benjamin.sabatini@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Chemical Composition, Thermodynamics and Recycling: The Beginnings of Predictive Behavioural Modelling for Ancient Copper-based Systems”

Victoria Sainsbury
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
victoria.sainsbury@stx.ox.ac.uk
“From Trash to Treasure: The Recycling of Glass in Roman and Transition Period Britain”

Yurika Sakai
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
yurika.sakai@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Transition from the Late Roman Period to the Early Anglo-Saxon Period in the Upper Thames Valley based on Stable Isotopes”

Francisca Santana Sagredo
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Hugh's College
francisca.santanasagredo@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“From the Andes to the Coast: Human mobility and diet in the Atacama Desert during the Late Intermediate Period (AD 900-1450)”

Christophe Snoeck
DPhil Archaeological Science
Merton College
“A Burning Question: Structural and Isotopic Studies of Cremated Bone in Archaeological Contexts”

Elisabeth Thompson
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
elisabeth.thompson@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Identifying and comparing high resolution climate signals from environmental archives”

Petra Vaiglova
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
petra.vaiglova@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Neolithic agricultural management in the Eastern Mediterranean: new insight from a multi-isotope approach”

Rachel Wood
DPhil Archaeological Science
Keble College
“The Contribution of New Radiocarbon Dating Pre-treatment Techniques to Understanding the Middle to Upper Palaeolithic Transition in Iberia”

Marshall Woodworth
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Catherine's College
marshall.woodworth@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
“Absorbed residue analysis of Black Sea amphorae from the late Roman and early Byzantine periods: The view from Beirut”

Carrie Wright
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
carrie.wright@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Calcium isotopes in sheep dental enamel: a new approach to studying sheep weaning and dairying in the archaeological record”

Quan Zhang
DPhil Archaeological Science
Linacre College
quan.zhang@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Zooarchaeology, animal domestication, China Comparing patterns of early pig domestication in Neolithic China and in the Near East”

Maggie Ziriax
DPhil Archaeological Science
St Cross College
margaret.ziriax@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The Effects of Climate and Geography on Palaeodietary Reconstruction: With a Focus on Late Antique Spain”

School of Archaeology > People > Graduate Students > DPhil Archaeological Science