DPhil Archaeology Students

Charlie Arthur
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
charles.arthur@merton.ox.ac.uk
“The social world of hunter-gatherers in Early Holocene Lesotho: Integrating Theory and Method”

Alexander Aston
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
alexander.aston@keble.ox.ac.uk
“Inequality and the Metaplastic Niche: Material Engagement Theory and the Keros-Syros Culture of the Early Cyclades”

Marco Bernal
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
marco.bernal@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Neanderthal behaviour in an ecological and climatic context and the arrival of anatomically modern humans in the Iberian Peninsula (Baetic and Cantabrian mountain systems)”

Bohingamuwa Bohingamuwa
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
wijerathne.bohingamuwa@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Sri Lanka and the Indian Ocean contacts: Internal networks and external connections”

Gautam Bondada
DPhil Archaeology
Jesus College
gautam.bondada@jesus.ox.ac.uk
“Indo-Mediterranean contact and its relevance to India: 1st century BCE to 6th century CE”

Izumi Braddick
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
izumi.braddick@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Violence and Non-violence in Jomon Japan”

Carlos Cabrera Tejedor
DPhil Archaeology
Brasenose College
carlos.cabrera@bnc.ox.ac.uk
“From Hispalis to Ishbiliyya: the ancient port of Seville, from the Roman Period to the Early Middle Ages”

Katie Campbell
DPhil Archaeology
Brasenose College
katie.campbell@bnc.ox.ac.uk
“Cities and the Mongol Conquest: Urban Change in Central Asia from 1200-1400”

Qin Cao
DPhil Archaeology
Lady Margaret Hall College
qin.cao@lmh.ox.ac.uk
“Roles of Weapons: Significance, Identity and Value in Shang (c.1600-1050 B.C.) society China”

Dana Challinor
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
dana.challinor@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Charcoal Evidence from ritual and domestic contexts at Pompeii and Herculaneum”

Beichen Chen
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
beichen.chen@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Cultural Interactions during the Zhou Period (C.A. 1000 - 350 B.C.): A Study of Networks from the Suizao Corridor”

Ying Chen
DPhil Archaeology
St Peter's College
ying.chen@spc.ox.ac.uk
“Engraving in Caves and Mountains: Buddhist inscriptions in China from sixth to eighth century AD”

Alice Cheng
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
yu.cheng@merton.ox.ac.uk
“The Zhou identity: its construction, perception and development in the early Western Zhou (1045-978 B.C.)”

Ying-ching Chou
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
ying-ching.chou@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“The Imperial Packaging as revealing categorization and status in the Chinese Qing dynasty (1644-1911)”

Matthew Cook
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
matthew.cook@wadh.ox.ac.uk
“Early Chinese Metallurgy: The Significance of Cultural Interaction between China and Eurasia and the Application of Agency and Practice Theory”

Patrick Cuthbertson
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
patrick.cuthbertson@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Hominins in Lower-Middle Pleistocene Central Asia: a Landscape-based approach to assessing the earliest possible dispersal and occupation”

Sam Derbyshire
DPhil Archaeology
Queen's College
samuel.derbyshire@queens.ox.ac.uk
“Material Culture and Social History: an Archaeological Approach to the Recent Past and Contemporary World in Turkana, Northern Kenya”

Ann-sofie Diener
DPhil Archaeology
Lady Margaret Hall College
ann-sofie.diener@lmh.ox.ac.uk
“The Orientalising Phenomenon on Crete, 9th-7th centuries BC”

Charlotte Diffey
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
charlotte.diffey@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Archaeobotany. Feeding the City: a comparative study of agricultural production in Bronze Age urban systems of the eastern Mediterranean”

Victoria Donnelly
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
victoria.donnelly@stx.ox.ac.uk
“A Study in Grey: Grey Literature and Archaeology in England”

Xuying Du
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
xuying.du@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“A post-excavation analysis of jades excavated from Fu Hao's tomb Working Title: The Queen's Jades: An Inquiry into the Agency of Material Culture”

Andreas Duering
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
andreas.duering@stx.ox.ac.uk
“From Individuals to Settlement Patterns. Bridging the Gap between the Living and the Dead in Early Medieval Populations by an Agent-Based Demographic Model”

Jessica Dunham
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
jessica.dunham@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Rome Reused: New approaches to the examination of Roman objects recovered from early Anglo-Saxon graves”

Antonia Edwards-Freshwater
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
antonia.edwards-freshwater@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Interaction spheres and cylinder seals: an examination of the archaeological and historical approaches to seals and seal impressions in light of a case study of the Hamrin and Diyala sites throughout the Early Dynastic Periods (c. 2900-2350 BC)”

Jiemin Fang
DPhil Archaeology
Harris Manchester College
jiemin.fang@hmc.ox.ac.uk
“Gold and Silver of Eastern Eurasia, 6th to 8th century”

Peter Fiske
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
peter.fiske@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Late Bronze Age Eastern Mediterranean Seafarers and Seafaring”

Lindsay Fricker
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
lindsay.fricker@linacre.ox.ac.uk

Ying tung Fung
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
ying-tung.fung@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Chinese archaeology, Cultural Interactions on Bronzes between Central Plain and Northwest Borders during the Shang and Zhou Periods”

Martin Gallagher
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
martin.gallagher@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Macedonian Urbanism: The growth of peristyle public architecture and the use of space in Macedonia and Northern Greece (Epeiros and Thessaly), CA 350-150 BC”

Nicholas Gani
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
nicholas.gani@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Changing Meanings of Monuments in the Highlands of Central Borneo”

Jonathan Goldner-Jacobs
DPhil Archaeology
St John's College
jonathan.goldner@sjc.ox.ac.uk
“The Spirit of Engagement: Assembling the Sensorium in Innu Canoe Building”

Brecht Govaerts
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
brecht.govaerts@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The Contemporary is (Not) Prehistoric: An Ontology of Prehistoric and Contemporary Art”

Laura Green
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
laura.green@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Assessing the nature of early farming in Neolithic Western Asia: a functional ecological approach to emerging arable weeds”

Stephen Hammack
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
stephen.hammack@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Colonialism, Trade, and Change: The Creek Frontier in Southeastern North America, AD 1660-1718”

John Harries
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
john.harries@keble.ox.ac.uk
“Archaeology, affect and materiality in new technologies. A contemporary archaeology of mobile digital devices.”

Chelsea Hirn
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
chelsea.hirn@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Jewellery as a Symbol of Female Magical Agency in Scandinavia, c. 700-1000: Gender-Critical Perspectives on Sex Roles in Ritual”

Gabrielle Hughes
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
kathy-anne.hughes@wadh.ox.ac.uk
“Tradigital Knowledge? Indigenous Video Games, Copyright, and the Protection of Traditional Knowledge”

Ken Ishikawa
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
ken.ishikawa@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“The archaeology of Buddhism during the Western Ksatrapa period in Gujarat: A geographical and chronological contextualisation of rock-cut caves”

Klint Janulis
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
klint.janulis@stx.ox.ac.uk
“'Thinking Traps Through Time' How Middle Stone Age Trapping Technologies may have shaped Human Cognition”

Jelena Jaric
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
jelena.jaric@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Warfare and Urban Transformation in the Late Antique Central Balkans (late 3rd - early 7th c. AD)”

Alexandra Johnson
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
alexandra.johnson@stx.ox.ac.uk

Eleni Karouzou
DPhil Archaeology
Lincoln College
eleni.karouzou@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
“Thessaly: From the Late Bronze Age to the Early Iron Age (c. 1200-700)”

Julia Kotthaus
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
julia.kotthaus@wadh.ox.ac.uk
“Human Recolonisation of Lateglacial Britain: The Federmesser in Britain - The new frontier”

Kathryn Krakowka
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
kathryn.krakowka@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Interpersonal Violence in Medieval London: An Osteological Approach”

Juan Latorre-Ruiz
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
juan.latorre-ruiz@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The Bay of Biscay as a sphere of interaction in the Bronze Age: travelling ideas and metalwork between north Iberia and western France”

Peining Li
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
peining.li@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Trade in Ceramics between China and the Western Indian Ocean during Tang Dynasty (AD618-AD907)”

Agnieszka Lic
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
agnieszka.lic@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Christian Stucco Decorations in Southern Mesopotamia and the Persian Gulf Region, 7th - 9th centuries”

Swii yii Lim
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
swii.lim@merton.ox.ac.uk
“The Roman Army in Dacia: Organisation and Connectivity in a Mining Province”

Lily Liu
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
li-chia.liu@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Brick Tombs in the Sichuan Basin during the Eastern Han Period (25-220AD): Regional Identity and Cultural Fusion”

Sam Lunn-Rockliffe
DPhil Archaeology
St Hugh's College
samuel.lunn-rockliffe@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
“Connecting Past and Present: Sengwer Hunter-Gatherers of the Cherangani Hills, Kenya”

Tzveta Manolova
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
tzveta.manolova@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Maritime Networks of the Eastern Mediterranean from the Late Bronze Age transition to the Early Iron Age (1200-800 B.C.)”

Adam McBride
DPhil Archaeology
Queen's College
adam.mcbride@queens.ox.ac.uk
“From Public Assemblies to Private Chambers: Changing the Nature of Power in 7th Century England”

Erin McGowan
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
erin.mcgowan@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Invisible Intaglios: Exploring the extent to which changes in seal production and use from MMIII-LMIB reflect an increasing concern for sphragistic security in administrative and social contexts”

William Mills
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
william.mills@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Distribution and Technological Analysis of Late Glacial Events in relation to the Palaeolandscape of the River Wey, a Tributary of the Channel River Network”

Hannah Mosley
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
hannah.mosley@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Primate Archaeology: Cross-species comparisons for the social evolution of primate tool use”

Kyoko Nomoto
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
kyoko.nomoto@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Rethinking silk on the Silk Road during the third through eighth centuries”

Rebecca O'Sullivan
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
rebecca.osullivan@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Landscape and Connections: Petroglyphs of the Altai in the 2nd and 1st millennia BCE”

Bobby Orillaneda
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
bobby.orillaneda@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“Southeast Asian maritime trade in the 15th century: evidence from shipwrecks”

Joanna Palermo
DPhil Archaeology
University College
joanna.palermo@univ.ox.ac.uk
“Innovative Economies: the impact of iron technology on the economy and culture of Early Iron Age Greece (1200-700 BCE)”

Edward Peveler
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
edward.peveler@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The supply of building materials to construction projects in Roman Oxfordshire: logistics, economics, and social significance”

Alison Pollard
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
alison.pollard@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“The Use of Epic in Roman Art”

Evan Proudfoot
DPhil Archaeology
Lincoln College
evan.proudfoot@history.ox.ac.uk
“Doors and Thresholds in the Roman Mediterranean 200 B.C. to A.D. 200: Tracing Social Function, Technological Development, and Transmission”

Siobhan Shinn
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
siobhan.shinn@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Pushing Boundaries: Communities Across Space and Time in Archaeology”

Karl Smith
DPhil Archaeology
Kellogg College
karl.smith@kellogg.ox.ac.uk
“Modelling Seafaring in Iron Age Atlantic Europe”

Gabriela Sotomayor
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
gabriela.sotomayor@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Ptolemaic Egyptian Jewellery and Engraved Gems: Materials and Methods”

Ina St George
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
ina.stgeorge@linacre.ox.ac.uk
“The role of wall art in the Neolithic at Catal hoyuk”

Dan Stansbie
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
daniel.stansbie@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The circulation of flesh: regional food producing/consuming systems in Southern England 1500BC-AD1086”

Elizabeth Stroud
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
elizabeth.stroud@stx.ox.ac.uk
“An Archaeobotanical investigation into the Chalcolithic economy and social organisation of central Anatolia”

Jaime Swift
DPhil Archaeology
Jesus College
jaime.swift@jesus.ox.ac.uk
“The frontier of agriculture in central Chile from Early Ceramic to Inka expansion: Palaeodiet in the Aconcagua and La Ligua river valleys using stable isotopic and osteological analysis”

Vajk Szeverenyi
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
vajk.szeverenyi@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Interregional Interaction and Social Change in the Early Bronze Age of the Carpathian Basin, c. 2900-2000 BC”

Xiaojia Tang
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
xiaojia.tang@keble.ox.ac.uk
“Northeastern Frontier of Pre-Imperial China (13th to 3rd century BCE): Cultural differentiation and interregional interaction”

Matthew Thompson
DPhil Archaeology
St Benet's Hall College
matthew.thompson@stb.ox.ac.uk
“Methods and Products of Acoustic”

Abi Tompkins
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
abigail.tompkins@stx.ox.ac.uk
“The formation of a Frontier Polity: the (Warwickshire) Avon Valley in the Fifth to mid-Seventh centuries A.D.”

Victoria Waldock
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
victoria.waldock@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Mobilising Stone: Investigating Relations of Materiality, Movement and Corporality in Holocene Saharan Rock Art”

Veronica Walker Vadillo
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
veronica.walker@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Nautical Angkor: the Social Life of Boats in the Khmer Empire”

Shengyu Wang
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
shengyu.wang@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Beyond the Silk Road: The Dynamics behind the Fabled Trade Routes from the 6th to 9th Century”

Wen Wen
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
wen.wen@merton.ox.ac.uk
“An archaeological study of Chinese ceramic trade with the Islamic world: from the ninth to the thirteenth centuries CE”

Maciej Wencel
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
maciej.wencel@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Towards an Absolute Chronology of Early Mesopotamia: a Radiocarbon Perspective”

Nicholas West
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
nicholas.west@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
“Hellenistic and Roman bronze statuettes in the Ashmolean Museum: a study in ancient and modern reception”

Alyssa White
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
julia.white@merton.ox.ac.uk
“Archaeology Yayoi Period Traumatic Lesions: The role of aggression during the adoption of agriculture in Japan”

Wai kwan Wong
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
waikwan.wong@stx.ox.ac.uk
“Contacts and Identities: Pastoralist Tombs of the 1st millenium BC in Eastern Gansu and southern Ningxia, China”