DPhil Archaeology Students

Charlie Arthur
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
charles.arthur@merton.ox.ac.uk
”The social world of hunter-gatherers in Early Holocene Lesotho: Integrating Theory and Method”

Alexander Aston
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
alexander.aston@keble.ox.ac.uk
”Inequality and the Metaplastic Niche: Material Engagement Theory and the Keros-Syros Culture of the Early Cyclades”

Marco Bernal
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
marco.bernal@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”A comparative study of the lithic technology, subsistence and bioclimatic settlement patterns of Neanderthals in the Iberian Peninsula (Cantabrian and Betic regions)”

Gautam Bondada
DPhil Archaeology
Jesus College
gautam.bondada@jesus.ox.ac.uk
”Indo-Mediterranean contact and its relevance to India: 1st century BCE to 6th century CE”

Izumi Braddick
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
izumi.braddick@stx.ox.ac.uk
”To Fight or Not To Fight? Assessing the Prevalence of Violence among the Hunter-Gatherer Jomon of Japan”

Carlos Cabrera Tejedor
DPhil Archaeology
Brasenose College
carlos.cabrera@arch.ox.ac.uk
”From Hispalis to Ishbiliyya: the ancient port of Seville, from the Roman Empire to the end of the Islamic Period (45 BC - AD 1248)”

Katie Campbell
DPhil Archaeology
Brasenose College
katie.campbell@bnc.ox.ac.uk
”Cities and the Mongol Conquest: Urban Change in Central Asia from 1200-1400”

Dana Challinor
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
dana.challinor@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Charcoal Evidence from ritual and domestic contexts at Pompeii and Herculaneum”

Ying Chen
DPhil Archaeology
St Peter's College
ying.chen@spc.ox.ac.uk
”Engraving in Caves and Mountains: Buddhist inscriptions in China from sixth to eighth century AD”

Alice Cheng
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
yu.cheng@merton.ox.ac.uk
”The Zhou identity: its construction, perception and development in the early Western Zhou (1045-978 B.C.)”

Ying-ching Chou
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
ying-ching.chou@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”The Imperial Packaging as revealing categorization and status in the Chinese Qing dynasty (1644-1911)”

Matthew Cook
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
matthew.cook@wadham.ox.ac.uk
”Early Chinese Metallurgy: The Significance of Cultural Interaction between China and Eurasia and the Application of Agency and Practice Theory”

Patrick Cuthbertson
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
patrick.cuthbertson@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Hominins in Lower-Middle Pleistocene Central Asia: a Landscape-based approach to assessing the earliest possible dispersal and occupation”

Evgenia Dammer
DPhil Archaeology
St Hugh's College
evgenia.dammer@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
”Ceramic Traditions of Early Northern China: Painted Pottery in Context”

Sam Derbyshire
DPhil Archaeology
Queen's College
samuel.derbyshire@queens.ox.ac.uk
”Trade, development and resilience: An archaeology of contemporary livelihoods in Turkana, Northern Kenya”

Abigail Desmond
DPhil Archaeology
Hertford College
abigail.desmond@hertford.ox.ac.uk
”An Integrative Methodological Analysis of Iberomaurusian Bone Tools from Taforalt, Morocco”

Charlotte Diffey
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
charlotte.diffey@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”Feeding the City: a comparative study of agricultural production in Bronze Age urban systems of the eastern Mediterranean”

Robert Downes
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
robert.downes@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”Archaeometallurgy Identifying materials extraneous to the ore that contribute towards the chemical enrichment of slags, slag inclusions and iron”

Xuying Du
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
xuying.du@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”A post-excavation analysis of jades excavated from Fu Hao's tomb Working Title: The Queen's Jades: An Inquiry into the Agency of Material Culture”

Jessica Dunham
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
jessica.dunham@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Rome Reused: New approaches to the examination of Roman objects recovered from early Anglo-Saxon graves”

Antonia Edwards-Freshwater
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
antonia.edwards-freshwater@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”Interaction spheres and cylinder seals: an examination of the archaeological and historical approaches to seals and seal impressions in light of a case study of the Hamrin and Diyala sites throughout the Early Dynastic Periods (c. 2900-2350 BC)”

Nesrin Elgaly
DPhil Archaeology
Worcester College
nesreen.elgaly@worc.ox.ac.uk
”Maritime Archaeology, Characteristics of Ancient Egyptian Ship and Boat Models”

Jiemin Fang
DPhil Archaeology
Harris Manchester College
jiemin.fang@hmc.ox.ac.uk
”Forging Bonds: The role of gold and silver in high-status of Eastern Eurasia, 6th to 9th centuries”

Peter Fiske
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
peter.fiske@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Late Bronze Age Eastern Mediterranean Seafarers and Seafaring”

Lindsay Fricker
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
lindsay.fricker@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”Contemporary themes in coastal archaeology: British seaside piers”

Ying tung Fung
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
ying-tung.fung@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Cultural interaction between West Eurasia and the Central Plains of China: the significance of the movement of animals, ideas and material culture in northern China (3000-1000BC)”

Martin Gallagher
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
martin.gallagher@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”Macedonian Urbanism? Cities, public building, and the character of political space in Macedonia, ca. 350-150 BC”

Nicholas Gani
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
nicholas.gani@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”Changing Meanings of Monuments in the Highlands of Central Borneo”

Jonathan Goldner-Jacobs
DPhil Archaeology
St John's College
jonathan.goldner@sjc.ox.ac.uk
”The Spirit of Engagement: Assembling the Sensorium in Innu Canoe Building”

Brecht Govaerts
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
brecht.govaerts@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Art and Archaeology: Towards an Ontology of Prehistoric and Contemporary Art”

Laura Green
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
laura.green@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Assessing the nature of early farming in Neolithic Western Asia: a functional ecological approach to emerging arable weeds”

John Harries
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
john.harries@keble.ox.ac.uk
”Affect and materiality in therapeutic spaces. A contemporary archaeology of hospices”

Anthony Huan
DPhil Archaeology
St Hugh's College
limin.huan@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
”Early Stage of Metallurgy in Late Prehistoric China”

Gabrielle Hughes
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
kathy-anne.hughes@wadham.ox.ac.uk
”Tradigital Knowledge? Indigenous Video Games, Copyright, and the Protection of Traditional Knowledge”

Danielle Hum
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
danielle.hum@stx.ox.ac.uk
”The effects of cross-cultural interactions on breeding and domestication programs of pack animals in the Hexi Corridor”

Achilles Iasonos
DPhil Archaeology
St Hugh's College
achilleas.iasonos@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
”Sailing routes and on land movement of the indigenous people of Cyprus. The maritime framework of Cyprus during the Holocene period via deep-sea and LiDar data”

Ken Ishikawa
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
ken.ishikawa@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”The geographical and chronological contextualisation of Buddhist rock-cut caves during the Western Ksatrapa period in Gujarat”

Klint Janulis
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
klint.janulis@stx.ox.ac.uk
”'Thinking Traps Through Time' How Middle Stone Age Trapping Technologies may have shaped Human Cognition”

Jelena Jaric
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
jelena.jaric@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Warfare and Urban Transformation in the Late Antique Central Balkans (late 3rd - early 7th c. AD)”

Alexandra Johnson
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
alexandra.johnson@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Diet and Health in a time of transition: Pictish and Viking age Orkney”

Eleni Karouzou
DPhil Archaeology
Lincoln College
eleni.karouzou@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
”Thessaly: From the Late Bronze Age to the Early Iron Age (c. 1200-700)”

Julia Kotthaus
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
julia.kotthaus@wadham.ox.ac.uk
”Between the Caves and the Sea: the Lateglacial occupation of the English East Midlands”

Juan Latorre-Ruiz
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
juan.latorre-ruiz@stx.ox.ac.uk
”The Bay of Biscay as a sphere of interaction in the Bronze Age: travelling ideas and metalwork between north Iberia and western France”

Peining Li
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
peining.li@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”The Ceramic Trade between China and Southeast Asia during the Song Dynasty (960-1279)”

Agnieszka Lic
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
agnieszka.lic@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Christian Stucco Decoration in Southern Mesopotamia and the Persian Gulf Region, sixth to ninth centuries”

Swii yii Lim
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
swii.lim@merton.ox.ac.uk
”The Roman Army in Dacia: Organisation and Connectivity in a Mining Province”

Lily Liu
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
li-chia.liu@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”Brick Tombs in the Sichuan Basin during the Eastern Han Period (25-220AD): Regional Identity and Cultural Fusion”

Sam Lunn-Rockliffe
DPhil Archaeology
St Hugh's College
samuel.lunn-rockliffe@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
”Connecting Past and Present: Sengwer Hunter-Gatherers of the Cherangani Hills, Kenya”

Tzveta Manolova
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
tzveta.manolova@merton.ox.ac.uk
”Maritime Networks of the Eastern Mediterranean from the Late Bronze Age transition to the Early Iron Age (1200-800 B.C.)”

Adam McBride
DPhil Archaeology
Queen's College
adam.mcbride@queens.ox.ac.uk
”Early Medieval Great Hall Complexes in Context: Power and Place in the Upper Thames Valley”

Erin McGowan
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
erin.mcgowan@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Invisible Intaglios: Exploring the extent to which changes in seal production and use from MMIII-LMIB reflect an increasing concern for sphragistic security in administrative and social contexts”

William Mills
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
william.mills@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Late Glacial geography of the Channel River Network. SE England and its central position in the British Peninsular and ties with NW Europe”

Hannah Mosley
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
hannah.mosley@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”Primate Archaeology: Cross-species comparisons for the social evolution of primate tool use”

Kyoko Nomoto
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
kyoko.nomoto@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”Rethinking silk on the Silk Road during the third through eighth centuries”

Rebecca O'Sullivan
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
rebecca.osullivan@merton.ox.ac.uk
”Landscape and Connections: Petroglyphs of the Altai in the 2nd and 1st millennia BCE”

Bobby Orillaneda
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
bobby.orillaneda@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”Southeast Asian maritime trade in the 15th century: evidence from shipwrecks”

Joanna Palermo
DPhil Archaeology
University College
joanna.palermo@univ.ox.ac.uk
”Innovative Economies: the impact of iron technology on the economy and culture of Early Iron Age Greece (1200-700 BCE)”

Mike Perrin Jr
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
thomas.perrinjr@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”The Port of Uraga: Feudal Japan's Gateway to the World”

Edward Peveler
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
edward.peveler@stx.ox.ac.uk
”The supply of building materials to construction projects in Roman Oxfordshire: logistics, economics, and social significance”

Evan Proudfoot
DPhil Archaeology
Lincoln College
evan.proudfoot@history.ox.ac.uk
”Doors and Windows in the Roman Mediterranean, 2nd c. B.C. to the mid-3rd c. A.D.”

Shui Shen
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
shui.shen@keble.ox.ac.uk
”What is the social complexity in the late Neolithic in China? Case studies of Dawenkou, Liangzhu, Shijiahe, Longshan complexes”

Siobhan Shinn
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
siobhan.shinn@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Administration and Social Relations in Egypt during Fourth Millennium BCE”

Karl Smith
DPhil Archaeology
Kellogg College
karl.smith@kellogg.ox.ac.uk
”Modelling Seafaring in Iron Age Atlantic Europe”

Gabriela Sotomayor
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
gabriela.sotomayor@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”Ptolemaic Egyptian Jewellery and Engraved Gems: Materials and Methods”

Ina St George
DPhil Archaeology
Linacre College
ina.stgeorge@linacre.ox.ac.uk
”The role of wall art in the Neolithic at Catal hoyuk”

Xiaojia Tang
DPhil Archaeology
Keble College
xiaojia.tang@keble.ox.ac.uk
”Northeastern Frontier of Pre-Imperial China (13th to 3rd century BCE): Cultural differentiation and interregional interaction”

Matthew Thompson
DPhil Archaeology
St Benet's Hall College
matthew.thompson@stb.ox.ac.uk
”Use of ultra-short baseline acoustics for enhanced archaeological data collection of submerged cultural resources”

Irene Torreggiani
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
irene.torreggiani@wadham.ox.ac.uk
”Relating Fluvial and Social Dynamics in pre-Columbian southern Central America”

Katerina Vavaliou
DPhil Archaeology
Wadham College
aikaterini.vavaliou@wadham.ox.ac.uk
”The network of fortified settlements of eastern Central Greece from the late 6th c to the 13th c AD”

Chaoying Wang
DPhil Archaeology
St Hugh's College
chaoying.wang@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
”Trade and Settlement”

Shengyu Wang
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
shengyu.wang@merton.ox.ac.uk
”Cosmology, Fashion and Good fortune: Chinese auspicious ornament in the Han dynasty (206BC - 220AD)”

Wen Wen
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
wen.wen@merton.ox.ac.uk
”An archaeological study of Chinese ceramic trade with the Islamic world: from the ninth to the thirteenth centuries CE”

Alyssa White
DPhil Archaeology
Merton College
julia.white@merton.ox.ac.uk
”The role of aggression during the adoption of agriculture in Japan. Jomon and Yayoi Period Traumatic Lesions”

Wai kwan Wong
DPhil Archaeology
St Cross College
waikwan.wong@stx.ox.ac.uk
”Contacts and Identities: Pastoralist Tombs of the 1st millenium BC in Eastern Gansu and southern Ningxia, China”

Rubi Wu
DPhil Archaeology
St Peter's College
rubi.wu@spc.ox.ac.uk
”Process and timing of water chestnut (Trapa natans) domestication in the Lower Yangtze River Valley (c. 10000-4000 BP)”

Barbora Ziackova
DPhil Archaeology
Wolfson College
barbora.ziackova@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
”Scandinavian Identity Construction and Islam, 800 - 1050 CE”