Research Students

DPhil Students

Helen Ackers
“Third century AD women's portrait busts”
email: helen.ackers@arch.ox.ac.uk
Maxine R. T. Anastasi
email: maxine.anastasi@arch.ox.ac.uk
Jamie Anderson
“Human Adaptation to Environmental Change in Marginal Environments of the North Atlantic Zone, c. AD800-1700: A reappraisal of the chronological basis”
email: jamie.anderson@hertford.ox.ac.uk
Charles I. Arthur
Diana R. Blumberg
email: diana.blumberg@arch.ox.ac.uk
Wijerathne B. H. M. Bohingamuwa
“Sri Lankan and the Early Indian Ocean Contacts: Historical narratives vs. material realities”
email: wijerathne.bohingamuwa@stx.ox.ac.uk
Gautam B. P. Bondada
Daniela A. Boos Pedroza
email: daniela.boospedroza@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Ceridwen V. Boston
email: ceri.boston@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Fiona G. Bradshaw
“Plant Exploitation in Oceania: Analysis of Resins from Archaeological and Ethnographic Artefacts in the Pitt Rivers Museum”
email: fiona.bradshaw@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Cassian W. F. Bramham Law
“Research on the Role of Lacustrine Systems and the re-occupation of the North European Plain following the Last Glacial Maximum ”
email: cassian.bramhamlaw@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Elizabeth M. Brophy
“Royal Statues in Egypt 300BC-AD220: Context and Function”
email: elizabeth.brophy@keble.ox.ac.uk
Chelsea Budd
“Marginality, Metaphor & Meaning: Stable isotope studies of diet and subsistence aimed at understanding the adoption of agriculture during the Neolithic and Bronze Age periods in the marginal environment of the Orkney Islands ”
email: chelsea.budd@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Carlos Cabrera Tejedor
“The Maritime Archaeology of Spain during Late Antiquity”
email: carlos.cabrera@arch.ox.ac.uk
Qin Cao
“Chinese Weapons: Warfare, Ritual and Burial in the Bronze Age (c. 1500-500 BC)”
John L. Carlson
“Images, Objects and Imperial Power in the Roman and Qin-Han Empires”
email: john.carlson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Dana Challinor
“Two Roman towns, Pompeii and Herculaneum: An examination of the use of wood as fuel in ritual and domestic contexts”
email: dana.challinor@stx.ox.ac.uk
Yi Chen
“Interregional Interaction and Social Development - Southern China from 3000 to 500 BC”
email: yi.chen@merton.ox.ac.uk
Xuan Chen
“Eastern Han (AD 25-220) Tombs in Sichuan”
email: xuan.chen@arch.ox.ac.uk
Beichen Chen
“The Cultural Interactions on Zeng Bronzes during the Zhou Dynasty (1046 ? 221 BC): A Study of the Networks of the Zeng Polity”
email: beichen.chen@arch.ox.ac.uk
Tiffany A. Chezum
“Traces of Greece and Rome in Late Egyptian Art. Hellenistic and Roman influences on the art of Ptolemaic and Roman Egypt”
email: tiffany.chezum@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Laine Clark-Balzan
“Dating the Aterian using techniques of luminescence dating and implications for mapping the dispersal of modern Homo Sapiens”
email: laine.clark-balzan@keble.ox.ac.uk
Robert Corrie
“Archaeological remote sensing ”
email: robert.corrie@keble.ox.ac.uk
Jennifer L. O. Craig
email: jennifer.craig@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Aurelie Cuenod
“Rethinking the Bronze-Iron transition in Iran: Copper and iron metallurgy before the Achaemenid period”
email: aurelie.cuenod@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Victoria L. Cullen
email: victoria.cullen@keble.ox.ac.uk
Girolamo De Simone
“The Dark Side of Vesuvius: Landscape Change and the Roman Economy”
email: ferdinando.desimone@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Ann-Sofie Diener
email: ann-sofie.diener@arch.ox.ac.uk
Oana I. Dominte
“The Fascination of Fire: A Phenomenological Approach to Fire Practices in Bronze and Iron Age Britain”
email: oana-irina.dominte@keble.ox.ac.uk
Victoria A. Donnelly
Andreas Duering
Heidi Eager
“Biomolecular Archaeology: Using Commensal Mammals to Reconstruct Prehistoric Human Contact in the Indian Ocean ”
email: heidi.eager@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Michaela S. Ecker
Teresa Erice Jurecky
“Clearing the Fog from the Mountains: Landscape and the reassessment of isolation in Asturias, Spain (100BC - 900AD)”
email: teresa.ericejurecky@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Brian Fahy
“Holistic Shipwreck Narratives in 14th and 15th Century Southeast Asia”
email: brian.fahy@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Jiemin Fang
“Eurasian Interaction as Shown in Material Culture, 6th to 10th century”
Andrew Ferrero
“Lines of Conflict, Landscapes of Control: Conceptualising the borderlands of Anglo-Norman Britain and France”
email: andrew.ferrero@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Dragana Filipovic
“Plant use and crop husbandry at Catalhoyuk East, Central Anatolia”
email: dragana.filipovic@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Peter N. Fiske
“To which the world sails: Egyptian travel, trade, and transformation from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age”
email: peter.fiske@arch.ox.ac.uk
Patrik G. Flammer
“Origin and diversity of infectious diseases in early cultures”
email: patrik.flammer@merton.ox.ac.uk
Timothy R. Forssman
“A spatial and temporal study of the Later Stone Age sequence in the south eastern Botswana”
email: tim.forssman@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Carmela Franco
“Sicilian Amphorae (AD I-VI): an economic analysis of production and distribution”
email: carmela.franco@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Tyler V. Franconi
“The Economic Development of the Rhine River Basin in the Roman Period”
email: tyler.franconi@chch.ox.ac.uk
Martin G. Gallagher
Michael J. Gantley
“The Rites of Spring: A Cognitive Analysis of Ritual Activity in the Agricultural Transition in South-West Asia and North-Western Europe”
email: michael.gantley@arch.ox.ac.uk
Alkiviadis A. Ginalis
“Byzantine Ports - Central Greece as a link between the Mediterranean and the Black Sea”
email: alkiviadis.ginalis@merton.ox.ac.uk
Simon Glenn
Emma Gowans
“Beyond the Narrative: Online Access to Heritage, an Assessment of Potential ”
email: emma.gowans@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Sarah V. Graham
“In Search of the Dioskouroi: Their Image, Myth and Cult”
email: sarah.graham@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Ilaria Maria Grimaldi
“Tracking Early Indian Ocean Movements using Taro (Colocasia Esculenta) Phylogeography”
email: ilaria.grimaldi@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Huw S. Groucutt
“Hominin Dispersals and the Middle Palaeolithic of Arabia”
email: huw.groucutt@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Gwyneth Guy
“John Abell c1578-1675: Carpenter and Architector”
email: gwyneth.guy@arch.ox.ac.uk
Stephen A. Hammack
John Hanson
“The Urban System and Economy of the Roman Empire”
email: john.hanson@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Vincent Hare
Sanda Heinz
“The Statuettes and Amulets of Heracleion-Thonis”
email: sanda.heinz@stx.ox.ac.uk
Rowena C. Henderson
email: rowena.henderson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Philippa Henry
“The Changing Scale and Mode of Textile Production in Late Saxon England : Its Relationship to Developments in Textile Production Technology and Changes in Society”
email: philippa.henry@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Rachel L. Hesse
email: rachel.hesse@merton.ox.ac.uk
Joshua T. Hogue
“The Iberomaurusian of the Maghreb: a reappraisal of chronological, geographic and functional variability”
email: joshua.hogue@stx.ox.ac.uk
Amber Hood
“Illuminating Early Dynastic Egypt: Using a multidisciplinary approach to reassess the chronological and typological ceramic assemblage of the late Naqada Period and its transition into the Old Kingdom”
email: amber.hood@merton.ox.ac.uk
Philippa H. J. Howarth
Yiu-Kang Hsu
“Bronze Age Metal Trades And Metallurgy in Eastern Eurasia”
email: yiu-kang.hsu@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Antonios Iliopoulos
“Cognitive Archaeology.The neuroarchaeology of early body decoration: An interdisciplinary discourse on the origins of self-consciousness, symbolism and language ”
email: antonios.iliopoulos@arch.ox.ac.uk
Amy Jeffrey
Anthony Johnson
“The long-term dynamic influence of human activity on topsoil magnetic susceptibility”
email: tony.johnson@keble.ox.ac.uk
Eleni Karouzou
“Thessaly: From the Late Bronze Age to the Early Iron Age (c. 1200-700)”
email: eleni.karouzou@arch.ox.ac.uk
Alexandra Kasseri
“Iconography/Eleusinian Mysteries”
email: alexandra.kasseri@stx.ox.ac.uk
Kyung Kyu Kim
“Early Maritime Activities in the South China Sea from the First Century BC to the Fifth Century AD”
email: kyung.kim@arch.ox.ac.uk
Maria Kopsacheili
“Palaces and Elite Residences in the Hellenistic Mediterranean (4th-1st c.BCE): Formation and Purpose”
email: maria.kopsacheili@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Anna Maria Kotarba-Morley
“Spatial analysis as a tool to investigate trading networks and seafaring activity between Southeast Asia and the Red Sea regions from the Hellenistic and Roman Era using examples from the sites of Berenike, Egypt, and Pattanam, Southeast India”
email: anna.kotarba-morley@stx.ox.ac.uk
Anna Kouremenos
“Elite Houses in Kissamos and Knossos (Crete): A Study in Emulative Acculturation”
email: anna.kouremenos@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Kathryn A. Krakowka
email: kathryn.krakowka@stx.ox.ac.uk
Serafima Krasnopolskaya
“The Dynamics of Message-Making in Sacred Art: The Case of Medieval Russian Vita-Icons”
email: serafima.krasnopolskaya@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Michelle C. Langley
“Behavioural Modernity in Southern Landscapes: Modern Cognition in MSA Africa and Pleistocene Sahul”
email: michelle.langley@stx.ox.ac.uk
Laura V. Lewis
“Early microlithic technologies and behavioural variability in southern Africa and South Asia”
email: laura.lewis@arch.ox.ac.uk
Chen Li
“Han Dynasty (206BC-AD220) Stone Carved Tombs in Central and Eastern China”
email: chen.li@merton.ox.ac.uk
Swii Yii Lim
Yan Liu
“Archaeological Manifestations of Rank and Status, The Wooden Chamber Tombs in the mid-Yangzi Region (206 B.C.-A.D.25)”
email: yan.liu@merton.ox.ac.uk
Matthew T. Lloyd
“The archaeology of Greek Warriors and Warfare from c.1200 to c.600 BCE”
email: matthew.lloyd@merton.ox.ac.uk
Lisa Lodwick
“Archaeobotany: A study of the Late Iron Age and Early Roman macroscopic plant remains from Silchester Insula IX”
email: lisa.lodwick@stx.ox.ac.uk
Jerome Mairat
email: jerome.mairat@arch.ox.ac.uk
Lara Mallen
“Raiding Relationships: The Role of the San in the Stock Raiding System of the North Eastern Cape and Southern Lesotho”
email: lara.mallen@arch.ox.ac.uk
Sarah Mallet
Tzveta V. Manolova
Alan J. Martinez
“Water Supply and Urbanisation in late Roman and Visigothic Iberia”
email: javier.martinez@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Rebecca A. McClung
“Liminal Waters: Prehistoric to Present Day Identities of the Indian Ocean as Constructed from Ile de la Reunion and their Roles in Environmental Management”
email: rebecca.mcclung@stx.ox.ac.uk
Erin R. McGowan
Mark McKerracher
“Agricultural Development in Middle Saxon England”
email: mark.mckerracher@stx.ox.ac.uk
Kristine R. Merriman
“Vessel use in Bronze Age Canaan”
email: kristine.merriman@merton.ox.ac.uk
Emma C. Middleton
Elizabeth A. Montgomerie
email: elizabeth.montgomerie@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Hannah Mosley
Jessica Murray
Sarah Neate
“Conservation and Practical Analysis Issues in the Identification of Manuscript Pigments: An assessment of current methodologies and potential for use in the Bodleian Library”
email: sarah.neate@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Luiseach E. Nic Eoin
“The Gatherer and the Grindstone: Functional analysis of grindstones from Southern Africa”
email: luiseach.niceoin@arch.ox.ac.uk
Bobby C. Orillaneda
Joanna M. Palermo
“Innovative Economies: the impact of iron technology on the economy and culture of Early Iron Age Greece (1200-700 BCE)”
email: joanna.palermo@univ.ox.ac.uk
Konstantina Panousi
“The Use of Marble Statuary on the Island of Thasos”
email: konstantina.panousi@merton.ox.ac.uk
Sefryn Penrose
“The Archaeology of Deindustrialisation in England”
email: sefryn.penrose@arch.ox.ac.uk
Laura Perucchetti
email: laura.perucchetti@spc.ox.ac.uk
Alison Pollard
Solomon M. Pomerantz
Charlotte Potts
“Accommodating the Divine: The Form and Function of Religious Buildings in Latial and Etruscan Settlements c.900-500 B.C. ”
email: charlotte.potts@arch.ox.ac.uk
David Price
“The present in the past: An exploration of the archaeoastronomical signifcance of selected prehistoric and early medieval Irish monuments ”
email: david.price@arch.ox.ac.uk
Evan G. Proudfoot
email: evan.proudfoot@arch.ox.ac.uk
Philippa Puzey-Broomhead
“A Historical Archaeology of the Black Loyalists in Atlantic Canada”
email: philippa.puzey-broomhead@stx.ox.ac.uk
Leonie R. J. Raijmakers
email: leonie.raijmakers@merton.ox.ac.uk
Kathryn L. Reusch
“Investigation of the agency and expertise of ancient Roman builders through material analysis of concrete samples from Ostia, Italy”
email: kathryn.reusch@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Natasha A. Reynolds
email: natasha.reynolds@arch.ox.ac.uk
Giles E. W. Richardson
email: giles.richardson@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Valeria Riedemann Lorca
“Greek Mythology Abroad: A Study of Its Funerary Uses in Italy and Anatolia”
email: valeria.riedemann@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Natalija Ristovska
“Pathways of artistic interchange: Circulation of high-value goods in Byzantium, The Levant and to the north of the Black Sea (843-1204)”
email: natalija.ristovska@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Erica S. Rowan
“Roman Diet and Nutrition in the Vesuvian Area: A study of biological remains from a sewer at Herculaneum”
email: erica.rowan@stx.ox.ac.uk
Benjamin Sabatini
email: benjamin.sabatini@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Victoria A. Sainsbury
Yurika Sakai
email: yurika.sakai@stx.ox.ac.uk
Francisca A. Santana Sagredo
Katia Schorle
“Strategies on Desert Frontiers: The Eastern Desert of Egypt, Libyan Desert and Syrian Desert in Comparison ”
email: katia.schorle@arch.ox.ac.uk
Elizabeth N. Sheldrick
“Monumentality in the Tripolitanian countryside from the 1st c. BC to the 7th c. AD”
email: nichole.sheldrick@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Yuriria Silva-Velazquez
“Application of Transmission Electron Microscopy to Identify Pre-Hispanic Developments in the Manufacture of Maya Blue Pigment”
email: yuriria.silva-velazquez@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Jane E. Smallridge
“The Death of Memory: remembering and forgetting through transitions in Roman Britain”
email: jane.smallridge@arch.ox.ac.uk
Sian E. H. Smith
Christophe Snoeck
email: christophe.snoeck@merton.ox.ac.uk
Gabriela Sotomayor
“The Iconography, Manufacture, and Stylistic Influence of Ptolemaic-Period Egyptian Jewellery and Engraved Gems”
email: gabriela.sotomayor@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Silja Spranger
“Honorific Statuary in the Third Century AD”
email: silja.spranger@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Ina M. St George
email: ina.stgeorge@arch.ox.ac.uk
Daniel J. Stansbie
Elizabeth A. Stroud
John Talbot
Xiaojia Tang
Caroline A. Thurston
email: caroline.thurston@arch.ox.ac.uk
Abigail E. I. Tompkins
Christina Triantafillou
“Imperial Building in Trajanic Rome: A Study of the Construction and Economics of Public Building”
email: christina.triantafillou@keble.ox.ac.uk
Petra Vaiglova
Elsbeth van der Wilt
“A Selection of Lead Objects from Heracleion-Thonis, Egypt”
email: elsbeth.vanderwilt@arch.ox.ac.uk
Angela Vaughan
“An Isotopic Study of Diet and Environment at Taforalt, Morocco”
email: angela.vaughan@keble.ox.ac.uk
Gregory Votruba
“Anchors and Mooring in the Ancient World”
email: greg.votruba@arch.ox.ac.uk
Victoria Waldock
“An anthropological approach to the investigation of Holocene Saharan rock art.”
email: victoria.waldock@arch.ox.ac.uk
Veronica Walker Vadillo
“Nautical Angkor: the Social Life of Boats in the Khmer Empire”
email: veronica.walkervadillo@arch.ox.ac.uk
Courtney Ward
“Identifying Multiple Gender Identities in the first-century AD: A Study of Personal Adornment and Skeletal Remains from the Bay of Naples”
email: courtney.ward@arch.ox.ac.uk
Jennifer L. Wehby
“Investigation of the agency and expertise of ancient Roman builders through material analysis of concrete samples from Ostia, Italy”
email: jennifer.wehby@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Nicholas J. West
“The persistence of the Classical-figural bronze statuettes in the Ashmolean collection 450BC-AD300”
email: nicholas.west@arch.ox.ac.uk
Marlena Whiting
“Travel and Accommodation in the East Mediterranean, 300-700: A Study of Networks of Communication, Travel, Infrastructure and Modes of Accommodation in Late Antiquity”
email: marlena.whiting@arch.ox.ac.uk
Rachel Wood
“The visual culture of Babylonia, Iran and Bactria c.330-c.100 BC”
email: rachel.wood@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Marshall C. Woodworth
Carrie Wright
“Isotopic Evidence from Human Milk Consumption”
email: carrie.wright@stx.ox.ac.uk
Mu-Chun Wu
“Negotiating Space: An Archaeological Research in Aumagan, Taiwan”
email: mu-chun.wu@hertford.ox.ac.uk
Rose-Marie Wyche
“The After-Lives of Tombs: The Re-use of Roman Sarcophagi in Provence”
email: rose-marie.wyche@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Margaret Ziriax
“Using Isotopic Analysis to Identify Migration: a case study of the city of Sanisera”
email: margaret.ziriax@stx.ox.ac.uk

MPhil Students

Christopher James Adamson
email: christopher.adamson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Charlotte J. Diffey
Janet S. Dunkelbarger
Katherine E. French
Rosemary A. Jeffreys
Emma J. Loftus
email: emma.loftus@arch.ox.ac.uk
William G. Mills
email: william.mills@arch.ox.ac.uk
Emma Morris
Claire E. Moryan
Matthew G. Naiman
Meseret Oldjira
Bartosz M. Raubo
email: bartosz.raubo@arch.ox.ac.uk
Amanda E. Sharp
email: amanda.sharp@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
John H. Sigmier
Ema Sikic
Emma R. Slayton
email: emma.slayton@arch.ox.ac.uk
Hannah J. S. Snell
email: hannah.snell@arch.ox.ac.uk
Gabrielle Thiboutot
School of Archaeology > People > Graduate Students