Research Students

DPhil Students

Helen Ackers
“Third century AD women's portrait busts”
email: helen.ackers@arch.ox.ac.uk
Christopher James Adamson
Maxine R. T. Anastasi
email: maxine.anastasi@arch.ox.ac.uk
Jamie Anderson
“Human Adaptation to Environmental Change in Marginal Environments of the North Atlantic Zone, c. AD800-1700: A reappraisal of the chronological basis”
email: jamie.anderson@hertford.ox.ac.uk
Charles I. Arthur
“The archaeology of terminal Pleistocene and early Holocene hunter-gatherers in southern Africa”
email: charles.arthur@merton.ox.ac.uk
Foteini Athanasiadou
“The development of the Attic Black figure in time and space: Investigating the purposes and the ideological meaning of Black”
email: foteini.athanasiadou@arch.ox.ac.uk
Marco A. Bernal
Shawn Berry
Julia Binnberg
Diana R. Blumberg
email: diana.blumberg@arch.ox.ac.uk
Wijerathne B. H. M. Bohingamuwa
“Sri Lankan and the Early Indian Ocean Contacts: Historical narratives vs. material realities”
email: wijerathne.bohingamuwa@stx.ox.ac.uk
Ivan Boyanov Bonchev
Gautam B. P. Bondada
“A Study of Mediterranean Artefacts in Western India (200 BCE to 300 CE)”
email: gautam.bondada@jesus.ox.ac.uk
Daniela A. Boos Pedroza
email: daniela.boospedroza@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Fiona G. Bradshaw
“Plant Exploitation in Oceania: Analysis of Resins from Archaeological and Ethnographic Artefacts in the Pitt Rivers Museum”
email: fiona.bradshaw@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Chelsea Budd
“Marginality, Metaphor & Meaning: Stable isotope studies of diet and subsistence aimed at understanding the adoption of agriculture during the Neolithic and Bronze Age periods in the marginal environment of the Orkney Islands ”
email: chelsea.budd@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Margaret H. Burr
“Populating the Countryside: The economics of rural poverty in the Roman West ”
email: margaret.burr@arch.ox.ac.uk
Carlos Cabrera Tejedor
“The Maritime Archaeology of Spain during Late Antiquity”
email: carlos.cabrera@arch.ox.ac.uk
Qin Cao
“Chinese Weapons: Warfare, Ritual and Burial in the Bronze Age (c. 1500-500 BC)”
John L. Carlson
“Images, Objects and Imperial Power in the Roman and Qin-Han Empires”
email: john.carlson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Ioannis Chalazonitis
Dana Challinor
“Two Roman towns, Pompeii and Herculaneum: An examination of the use of wood as fuel in ritual and domestic contexts”
email: dana.challinor@stx.ox.ac.uk
Beichen Chen
“The Cultural Interactions on Zeng Bronzes during the Zhou Dynasty (1046 ? 221 BC): A Study of the Networks of the Zeng Polity”
email: beichen.chen@arch.ox.ac.uk
Ying Chen
“Ornament System in Chinese Funerary Art: Liao, Song and Jin Dynasty ”
email: ying.chen@arch.ox.ac.uk
Yu Cheng
Tiffany A. Chezum
“Traces of Greece and Rome in Late Egyptian Art. Hellenistic and Roman influences on the art of Ptolemaic and Roman Egypt”
email: tiffany.chezum@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Robert Corrie
“Archaeological remote sensing ”
email: robert.corrie@keble.ox.ac.uk
Steven J. Crabb
Victoria L. Cullen
email: victoria.cullen@keble.ox.ac.uk
Patrick Cuthbertson
Dominic B. Dalglish
Girolamo De Simone
“The Dark Side of Vesuvius: Landscape Change and the Roman Economy”
email: ferdinando.desimone@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Samuel F. Derbyshire
Ann-Sofie Diener
email: ann-sofie.diener@arch.ox.ac.uk
Charlotte J. Diffey
“Archaeobotany. Feeding the City: a comparative study of agricultural production in Bronze Age urban systems of the eastern Mediterranean ”
email: charlotte.diffey@arch.ox.ac.uk
Oana I. Dominte
“The Fascination of Fire: A Phenomenological Approach to Fire Practices in Bronze and Iron Age Britain”
email: oana-irina.dominte@keble.ox.ac.uk
Victoria A. Donnelly
“A Study in Grey: A critical evaluation of archaeological grey literature”
email: victoria.donnelly@stx.ox.ac.uk
Andreas Duering
“From Individuals to Settlement Patterns. Bridging the Gap between the Living and the Dead by an Agent-Based Demographic Model”
email: andreas.duering@stx.ox.ac.uk
Jessica Dunham
“Curated and heirloom objects in England c400-900 ”
email: jessica.dunham@arch.ox.ac.uk
Michaela S. Ecker
“2 Million Years of Environmental Change: A case study from Wonerwerk Cave, Northern Cape, South Africa”
email: michaela.ecker@keble.ox.ac.uk
Antonia Edwards-Freshwater
“Interaction spheres and cylinder seals: an examination of the archaeological and historical approaches to seals and seal impressions in light of a case study of the Hamrin and Diyala sites throughout the Early Dynastic Periods (c. 2900-2350 BC) ”
email: antonia.edwards-freshwater@arch.ox.ac.uk
Teresa Erice Jurecky
“Clearing the Fog from the Mountains: Landscape and the reassessment of isolation in Asturias, Spain (100BC - 900AD)”
email: teresa.ericejurecky@st-hughs.ox.ac.uk
Brian Fahy
“Holistic Shipwreck Narratives in 14th and 15th Century Southeast Asia”
email: brian.fahy@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Jiemin Fang
“Eurasian Interaction as Shown in Material Culture, 6th to 10th century”
Eleanor C. E. Farber
Andrew Ferrero
“Lines of Conflict, Landscapes of Control: Conceptualising the borderlands of Anglo-Norman Britain and France”
email: andrew.ferrero@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Peter N. Fiske
“To which the world sails: Egyptian travel, trade, and transformation from the Bronze Age to the Iron Age”
email: peter.fiske@arch.ox.ac.uk
Patrik G. Flammer
“Origin and diversity of infectious diseases in early cultures”
email: patrik.flammer@merton.ox.ac.uk
Katherine E. French
Martin G. Gallagher
“Urbanization in Northern Greece: 400-250 BC”
email: martin.gallagher@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Nicholas A. Gani
“Megaliths and People in Central Borneo: Past and Present Relationships ”
email: nicholas.gani@arch.ox.ac.uk
Michael J. Gantley
“The Rites of Spring: A Cognitive Analysis of Ritual Activity in the Agricultural Transition in South-West Asia and North-Western Europe”
email: michael.gantley@arch.ox.ac.uk
Simon Glenn
“A Die Study of the Coins of Six Graeco-Bactrian Kings”
email: simon.glenn@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Sarah V. Graham
“In Search of the Dioskouroi: Their Image, Myth and Cult”
email: sarah.graham@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Laura Green
Gwyneth Guy
“John Abell c1578-1675: Carpenter and Architector”
email: gwyneth.guy@arch.ox.ac.uk
Stephen A. Hammack
“Historical Archaeology; The Archaeology and Ethnohistory of the Creek Indians, AD 1680-1716”
email: stephen.hammack@stx.ox.ac.uk
John Hanson
“The Urban System and Economy of the Roman Empire”
email: john.hanson@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Vincent Hare
“Rehydroxylation Dating and Archaeomagnetism in Southern Africa”
email: vincent.hare@keble.ox.ac.uk
Rowena C. Henderson
email: rowena.henderson@arch.ox.ac.uk
Rachel L. Hesse
email: rachel.hesse@merton.ox.ac.uk
Joshua T. Hogue
“The Iberomaurusian of the Maghreb: a reappraisal of chronological, geographic and functional variability”
email: joshua.hogue@stx.ox.ac.uk
Amber Hood
“Illuminating Early Dynastic Egypt: Using a multidisciplinary approach to reassess the chronological and typological ceramic assemblage of the late Naqada Period and its transition into the Old Kingdom”
email: amber.hood@merton.ox.ac.uk
Kira Hopkins
“The Archaeology of Power in Archaic Greece: A Holistic Approach to the Study of Power and Society”
email: kira.hopkins@arch.ox.ac.uk
Rachel J. A. Hopkins
Philippa H. J. Howarth
“Reconsideration of Mesopotamian Metalwork for Comparison with Iranian Metallurgy”
email: philippa.howarth@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Yiu-Kang Hsu
“Bronze Age Metal Trades And Metallurgy in Eastern Eurasia”
email: yiu-kang.hsu@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Kathy-Anne G. Hughes
Antonios Iliopoulos
“Cognitive Archaeology.The neuroarchaeology of early body decoration: An interdisciplinary discourse on the origins of self-consciousness, symbolism and language ”
email: antonios.iliopoulos@arch.ox.ac.uk
Klint E. Janulis
Jelena B. Jaric
“Early Medieval Military Conflicts between Byzantium and the Barbaricum: A Case Study of the Archaeological Evidence from present-day Macedonia ”
email: jelena.jaric@arch.ox.ac.uk
Amy Jeffrey
Anthony Johnson
“The long-term dynamic influence of human activity on topsoil magnetic susceptibility”
email: tony.johnson@keble.ox.ac.uk
Eleni Karouzou
“Thessaly: From the Late Bronze Age to the Early Iron Age (c. 1200-700)”
email: eleni.karouzou@arch.ox.ac.uk
Kyung Kyu Kim
“Early Maritime Activities in the South China Sea from the First Century BC to the Fifth Century AD”
email: kyung.kim@arch.ox.ac.uk
Hyunyoung Kim
Anna Maria Kotarba-Morley
“The port site Berenike Troglodytica in the context of Red Sea and Indian Ocean maritime connections and harbour typologies”
email: anna.kotarba-morley@stx.ox.ac.uk
Julia Kristine Kotthaus
“Human Recolonisation of Lateglacial Britain: The Federmesser in Britain - The new frontier”
email: julia.kotthaus@arch.ox.ac.uk
Kathryn A. Krakowka
email: kathryn.krakowka@stx.ox.ac.uk
Serafima Krasnopolskaya
“The Dynamics of Message-Making in Sacred Art: The Case of Medieval Russian Vita-Icons”
email: serafima.krasnopolskaya@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Myra Grace C. Lara
Boyoung Lee
Laura V. Lewis
“Early microlithic technologies and behavioural variability in southern Africa and South Asia”
email: laura.lewis@arch.ox.ac.uk
Agnieszka A. Lic
Swii Yii Lim
Li-Chia Liu
Ruiliang Liu
Emma J. Loftus
Lara Mallen
“Raiding Relationships: The Role of the San in the Stock Raiding System of the North Eastern Cape and Southern Lesotho”
email: lara.mallen@arch.ox.ac.uk
Sarah Mallet
Tzveta V. Manolova
Christina Marini
Brian A. Martens
“Images of Private Devotion in Roman and Late Antique Greece: Divine Statuettes in the Athenian Agora”
email: brian.martens@arch.ox.ac.uk
Moujan Matin
Adam P. McBride
“From Public Assemblies to Private Chambers: Changing the Nature of Power in 7th Century England”
email: adam.mcbride@arch.ox.ac.uk
Rebecca A. McClung
“Liminal Waters: Prehistoric to Present Day Identities of the Indian Ocean as Constructed from Ile de la Reunion and their Roles in Environmental Management”
email: rebecca.mcclung@stx.ox.ac.uk
Erin R. McGowan
Kristine R. Merriman
“Vessel use in Bronze Age Canaan”
email: kristine.merriman@merton.ox.ac.uk
William G. Mills
Elizabeth A. Montgomerie
email: elizabeth.montgomerie@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Hannah Mosley
“The social evolution of primate tool use: primate technologies and cross-species comparative models”
email: hannah.mosley@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Jessica Murray
Matthew G. Naiman
“Coinage In Etruscan Sanctuaries”
email: matthew.naiman@arch.ox.ac.uk
Sarah Neate
“Conservation and Practical Analysis Issues in the Identification of Manuscript Pigments: An assessment of current methodologies and potential for use in the Bodleian Library”
email: sarah.neate@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Luiseach E. Nic Eoin
“The Gatherer and the Grindstone: Functional analysis of grindstones from Southern Africa”
email: luiseach.niceoin@arch.ox.ac.uk
Kyoko Nomoto
Rebecca Victoria O'Sullivan
Bobby C. Orillaneda
Karenleigh A. Overmann
Joanna M. Palermo
“Innovative Economies: the impact of iron technology on the economy and culture of Early Iron Age Greece (1200-700 BCE)”
email: joanna.palermo@univ.ox.ac.uk
Konstantina Panousi
“The Use of Marble Statuary on the Island of Thasos”
email: konstantina.panousi@merton.ox.ac.uk
Alice Parkin
“Using sculpture as an archaeological resource in Xanthos, Lycia throughout its historical lifetime”
email: alice.parkin@arch.ox.ac.uk
Sefryn Penrose
“The Archaeology of Deindustrialisation in England”
email: sefryn.penrose@arch.ox.ac.uk
Laura Perucchetti
email: laura.perucchetti@spc.ox.ac.uk
Edward Peveler
Alison Pollard
Solomon M. Pomerantz
“The Early Human Settlement of Madagascar: new evidence from an intensive survey of the northern region of Antsiranana”
email: solomon.pomerantz@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Charlotte Potts
“Accommodating the Divine: The Form and Function of Religious Buildings in Latial and Etruscan Settlements c.900-500 B.C. ”
email: charlotte.potts@arch.ox.ac.uk
Evan G. Proudfoot
email: evan.proudfoot@arch.ox.ac.uk
Philippa Puzey-Broomhead
“A Historical Archaeology of the Black Loyalists in Atlantic Canada”
email: philippa.puzey-broomhead@stx.ox.ac.uk
Leonie R. J. Raijmakers
email: leonie.raijmakers@merton.ox.ac.uk
Natasha A. Reynolds
email: natasha.reynolds@arch.ox.ac.uk
Giles E. W. Richardson
email: giles.richardson@bnc.ox.ac.uk
Valeria Riedemann Lorca
“Greek Mythology Abroad: A Study of Its Funerary Uses in Italy and Anatolia”
email: valeria.riedemann@lincoln.ox.ac.uk
Hannah L. Ringheim
“Mercenaries in the Aegean and the Near East from 700-330 BCE”
email: hannah.ringheim@arch.ox.ac.uk
Natalija Ristovska
“Pathways of artistic interchange: Circulation of high-value goods in Byzantium, The Levant and to the north of the Black Sea (843-1204)”
email: natalija.ristovska@exeter.ox.ac.uk
Patrick J. Roberts
Benjamin Sabatini
email: benjamin.sabatini@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Victoria A. Sainsbury
Yurika Sakai
email: yurika.sakai@stx.ox.ac.uk
Francisca A. Santana Sagredo
Amanda E. Sharp
Elizabeth N. Sheldrick
“Monumentality in the Tripolitanian countryside from the 1st c. BC to the 7th c. AD”
email: nichole.sheldrick@ccc.ox.ac.uk
Laura Shell
Yuriria Silva-Velazquez
“Application of Transmission Electron Microscopy to Identify Pre-Hispanic Developments in the Manufacture of Maya Blue Pigment”
email: yuriria.silva-velazquez@linacre.ox.ac.uk
Jane E. Smallridge
“The Death of Memory: remembering and forgetting through transitions in Roman Britain”
email: jane.smallridge@arch.ox.ac.uk
Sian E. H. Smith
Gabriela Sotomayor
“The Iconography, Manufacture, and Stylistic Influence of Ptolemaic-Period Egyptian Jewellery and Engraved Gems”
email: gabriela.sotomayor@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Ina M. St George
email: ina.stgeorge@arch.ox.ac.uk
Daniel J. Stansbie
Elizabeth A. Stroud
John Talbot
Xiaojia Tang
“From silk textiles wrapping to jade suit: the change of material in Eastern Zhou (771-221 BCE), Qin (221-206 BCE) and Western Han (206 BCE-AD 9)”
email: xiaojia.tang@arch.ox.ac.uk
Joshua J. Thomas
Elisabeth M. Thompson
Abigail E. I. Tompkins
Christina Triantafillou
“Imperial Building in Trajanic Rome: A Study of the Construction and Economics of Public Building”
email: christina.triantafillou@keble.ox.ac.uk
Petra Vaiglova
Angela Vaughan
“An Isotopic Study of Diet and Environment at Taforalt, Morocco”
email: angela.vaughan@keble.ox.ac.uk
Margaret-Ashley Veall
“A Biomolecular hunt Through Rainforest and Deserts: Attempting to identify archaeological residues from tropical and arid environments ”
email: margaret-ashley.veall@arch.ox.ac.uk
Victoria Waldock
“An anthropological approach to the investigation of Holocene Saharan rock art.”
email: victoria.waldock@arch.ox.ac.uk
Veronica Walker Vadillo
“Nautical Angkor: the Social Life of Boats in the Khmer Empire”
email: veronica.walkervadillo@arch.ox.ac.uk
Jennifer L. Wehby
“Investigation of the agency and expertise of ancient Roman builders through material analysis of concrete samples from Ostia, Italy”
email: jennifer.wehby@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Maciej M. Wencel
“Rethinking the periodisation of the 4th-3rd millennium BC Near East”
email: maciej.wencel@arch.ox.ac.uk
Nicholas J. West
“The persistence of the Classical-figural bronze statuettes in the Ashmolean collection 450BC-AD300”
email: nicholas.west@arch.ox.ac.uk
Wai Kwan Wong
“Sources, Meanings and Identities: A Research of "Xirong" Burials in Southeastern Gansu Province, China”
email: waikwan.wong@arch.ox.ac.uk
Marshall C. Woodworth
Mu-Chun Wu
“Negotiating Space: An Archaeological Research in Aumagan, Taiwan”
email: mu-chun.wu@hertford.ox.ac.uk
Margaret Ziriax
“Using Isotopic Analysis to Identify Migration: a case study of the city of Sanisera”
email: margaret.ziriax@stx.ox.ac.uk

MPhil Students

Nicholas S. Bartos
Leah Bernardo-Ciddio
Surbhi Bhambri
Anna Magdalena Blomley
Jordan E. Graham
Benjamin Gronvold
Holly E. Kane
Richard George Llewellyn Kendall
Ariel N. Levine
Brooke A. Mealey
Amy L. Nizolek
Raquel Ortega Sanchez
Nikhil Pandhi
Thomas M. Perrin
Tia Sager
Zoe E. Saunders
Sydney C. Taylor
Shengyu Wang
School of Archaeology > People > Graduate Students