Prof Hamerow appointed as Commissioner for Historic England

The School is delighted to share the news that Professor Helena Hamerow has been appointed as a Commissioner of Historic England from 1 Sept. 2019. Congratulations Helena and we wish you all the success in this important role. 



Nicky Morgan, Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, has appointed three new Commissioners of Historic England. Ben Derbyshire, Helena Hamerow and Sue Wilkinson have been appointed as Commissioners of Historic England for four years from 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2023. The Commission is the governing body of Historic England and has overall responsibility for the National Heritage Collection which is managed by the English Heritage Trust on its behalf. The Commissioners were recruited with the aim of bringing additional expertise and insight in relation to architecture, archaeology, and tourism.


Details of the latest appointments are reported on the Historic England website.